Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Claypot Rice

1 Comment

I remember cooking a similar dish in my rice cooker eyons ago for a picnic with an American friend.  Geez…it’s been so long since I last cooked this dish.  To think when I was a student, these dishes were just at my finger tips.  I suppose it’s a matter of survival then…don’t cook = no food/eat bread or instant noodles == not fun!  Afterall, being in school is all about having fun and cooking is also a very fun project to endeavor in =).  Now that I’m help-less for 3 weeks, I feel like I’m bringing back the good old days of cooking again.  But this time, there’s not many people to wash up after me (which is really the downside of cooking).  Nonetheless, I’ve already set up my meal plan for 1 entire week.  Hopefully, things all work out well.  Though I’ve got to say that I’m rather ambitious (sigh…), but let’s wait and see how things go.  I might just be able to pull it off *wink*.

So the first lunch/dinner that I’m cooking is Claypot Rice with Chicken and Pork.  I have to say that it’s challenging, especially with regards to the rice (I’m really bad at cooking rice…it’s never “perfect”….either too wet or too dry).  I’ve taken the recipe from two sources: mycookinghut and noob cook . What I liked about the recipe from mycookinghut  was their use of salted fish in the dish.  Salted fish will add a nice dimension to the taste.  Noob cook, on the other hand, had a recipe that I was more familiar with.  Yes, yes, I know I’d cooked something similar, but I also wanted something more authentic than what I used to haphazardly put together *sheepish smile*.  As usual, I made some changes and hope you’ll like this version:

Chicken and Pork Claypot Rice (serves 4)

2 chinese sausage (lup cheong)
5 chicken thighs, cut to bite size pieces
5 pieces of pork bones (I used the ones for soup so that there is some meat around the bones)
21/2 cups of rice
3 cloves of garlic
1 salted fish (medium-sized piece)
Bok Choy

Marinade:

1 tbsp dark soy
2 tbsp light soy
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 tbsp of rice wine
1 inch ginger, sliced thinly

Sauce:

1 tbsp dark soy
1/2 tbsp light soy
1 tbsp sweet soy
1/2 tbsp rice wine
few drops of sesame oil

Directions
1. Marinade pork and chicken pieces for 30min – 1 hr before cooking.

2. Heat 1 tbsp oil in the clay pot. Add garlic and salted fish bits and fry until golden brown. Turn off the stove, remove the garlic and salted fish, leaving the oil in the claypot.

3. Add washed rice to the clay pot and coat the rice grains with the oil left in the clay pot.

4. Add water to the rice (the level of the water should come up to the 1/2 of your little finger’s first joint, from tip that is).

5. Cover claypot with lid. Simmer the rice until it is almost cooked, about 10-15 minutes.

6. Add marinated chicken and pork pieces (without the marinade) on top of the rice. Scatter fried garlic and salted fish bits and lup cheong. Drizze the sauce onto the ingredients. Drizzle a little oil along the walls of the clay pot so that the rice can form a nice crust.

7. Cover the claypot and simmer for another 15 minutes. Add the baby bok choy and cover with lid, and simmer for about 3 minutes.  Turn off the heat and allow the heat within the claypot to keep warm and slow cook the bok choy for another 10 minutes before serving.

Enjoy your claypot.  I know I enjoyed mine =).

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

One thought on “Claypot Rice

  1. amazing work, carry on the great webpage.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.