Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Modified Taiwanese Noodles (courtesy of Steamy Kitchen)

Leave a comment

One of my favorite noodle dishes is the 炸酱面 (fried sauce noodles) that I had in Ann Arbor, MI when I was studying.  I suspect that might be the Korean version, since it was sold at U-Cafe (University Cafe).  I have yet to taste the same flavors in Singapore. I had one at a Hong Kong/Shanghainese Cafe years ago and seriously speaking, the taste it just not right.  Recently, I had chanced upon the a hawker stall selling this wonderful noodle, but again, I wasn’t impressed.

One morning, I received an email from Steamy Kitchen‘s Jaden and she had posted a recipe for Taiwanese noodles.  The post/recipe was for Taiwanese noodles, and it looked superb! So yummy!!! I decided to have a go at cooking it and made slight changes that I’d love to share with all of you. I have to say that I really like my rendition of her Taiwanese noodles.  I added in basil leaves in place of the spring onions.  The basil leaves gave a very refreshing taste to the noodle dish, adding an addition layer of flavors.  My picky eaters loved it and that made me smile.  It’s so hard to get them to eat, so anything that can help really makes my day.  Thanks Jaden!

My modified Taiwanese Noodles recipe

490g ground pork
2 tb dark soy sauce
1 1/2 ts light soy sauce
2 ts balsamic vinegar
1 ts Chinese five-spice powder
1 tb brown sugar
1 large shallot
5 cloves garlic
3 middle sized bamboo shoots, diced
4 shitake mushrooms, diced
4-6 sweet basil leaves
Dried Noodles (I used flat noodles, but you can use whichever type that you like)

1. Measure the sauces, spices and sugar and set aside for later use.

2. Fry (in a wok) the onions first until translucent.  Add in the ground pork and stir fry till 80% cooked.  Add 1/2 cup water to help the pork cook.  Set the ground pork aside and fry the garlic until you can smell the fragrance of the garlic. Mix the garlic into the ground pork and onion.

3. Once the pork is almost cooked, add in the mushrooms and bamboo shoots. Cover the wok and let the steam cook the ingredients (1-2 mins).

4. Add in the sauce and stir the mixture evenly (this will be the meat sauce that you’ll place on top of the noodles).

5. Separately, boil a pot of water and cook the noodles until soft.

6. Plate up the noodles and place a scoop of meat sauce over it.

7. Roll together the basil leaves and slice them.  Scatter a pinch of sliced basil leaves over the meat sauce.

Yummy yummy yummy!

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.