Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Homemade Ice Cream without an ice cream maker

2 Comments

My family (with the exception of me) loves ice cream.  My father will take evening walks to the “Ma-Ma” (Dialect for Indian) shop to get his weekly ice cream treats.  This habit rubbed off nicely on my daughter and every so often, she tells me “Want some ice cream? I share you?”  My husband is also another sweet-toothed devil.  He can sit with a tub of ice cream and polish the entire tub before a 1 hr documentary is over.  My family has been spending a portion of the household expenses on Ice cream!  This made me decide that I should learn to make ice cream for my family!  I’m sure ice cream can’t be that expensive!  Furthermore, I had found a great website to make different yummy flavored ice cream, so why not?  Hang on…yes there is a stopper: Ice Cream Maker!  Well, not that much of a stopper until I found that a decent maker will damage my pockets quite horribly – S$1000.  Well, these are the ones that had their own cooling units.  Of course there are the cheaper ones S$100+, but they still required you to freeze the bowl and do the alternate cooling, churning thing that makes it no different from using my mixer.  Eventually, I dropped the idea of getting a machine.  Then, I found a website that teaches how to make ice cream without an ice cream maker!  PERFECTO!  Now, I can go on my quest to make the most unique and interesting flavored ice cream…

Making Ice Cream WITHOUT an Ice Cream Maker

1. Prepare the custard base as directed in the recipe.  Chill in the refrigerator preferrably for about 8 hours (4 hours is the minimum!).

2. Remove custard from the refrigerator and stir with a spatula. Transfer the mixture to a freezer-safe container. Cover tightly with plastic wrap or an airtight cover. Place in the freezer and allow to freeze for 2-3 hours.

3. Remove from the freezer and beat with a mixer to break up the ice crystals that are beginning to form. Do not let the mixture melt until watery. Cover and place back in freezer for 2-3 more hours.

4. Remove from the freezer and beat again with the mixer.  Repeat this process for about 4 more times.  The more you do this, the softer and smoother the ice cream becomes.

5. Remove from the freezer and beat the mixture 1 more time. The ice cream should have thicken substantially.  Stir in any add-ins at this point (chocolate chips, cookie chunks, etc.). Do not beat after the add-ins have been incorporated.

6. Pour into a plastic airtight freezer container, leaving some space at the top. Cover and place the container in the freezer and allow the ice cream to freeze until firm.

Source: How to Make Homemade Ice Cream Without an Ice Cream Maker (Brown Eyed Baker)

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

2 thoughts on “Homemade Ice Cream without an ice cream maker

  1. Pingback: Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake « Clickin' Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Coconut Ice Cream « Clickin' Kitchen

Leave a Reply

