Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Crab Bee Hoon Soup

Leave a comment

Several weeks ago, I was watching television happily one day when I saw the advertisment for a seafood restaurant.  The advertisement had all different kinds of seafood – prawns, lobsters, chilli crabs, pepper crabs, etc.  But what caught my eye was the last dish that appeared as part of the restaurant’s menu – Crab Bee Hoon Soup.  The food looked so good!!! It made my mouth water instantly.  I had 2 options: 1) Drive out immediately to get a hot piping bowl of crab bee hoon soup from Melben (which is not far from my place), or 2) I could buy some crabs and make it myself at home!  Well, the first option was so tempting, but it was the home chef in me that drew me to the second option.  Of course it had to happen that the next morning, when I went to the market, there were no crabs available! The following morning, the same thing happened.  With my children keeping me busy and the fruitless trips to the market, the idea of eating crab bee hoon fell out of my head pretty quickly.  However, my craving for the crab bee hoon soup did not die off (obviously, that’s why I’m writing this blog today).  I got up this morning to be greeted by heavy rainfall, but that did not stop me swinging by the market after dropping Elise off at school.  Wooopie…I found crabs in the market, and along with it, some really fresh Philippines “lala” (it’s a type of clams).  Oh…after snapping up some other ingredients that will be key to my soup dish, I headed for home HAPPILY!

Crab Bee Hoon Recipe

Ingredients:

Fresh Rice Vermicelli (also known as Guilin mǐfěn (桂林米粉))
Butter
Ginger
Onions – The yellow ones are sweeter, and hence good for soups
Broth (pork, chicken or seafood) – I used pork in this case
Boiled water
Evaporated milk
Crab
Clams – The fishmonger said that the ones I bought were the Philippines variety (also known as Litog)
Vegetables of choice (preferably green leafy vegetables to add to the color of the dish)
Rice wine
Fish sauce (or salt) to taste
White pepper

1. Parboil the pork bones/chicken bones.

2. In a pot, add the butter and saute the ginger and onions. When the ginger gives off an aroma, add the pork bones and fry until the bones turn a little brown.

3. Add water to the mixture and boil for 1 hour on low-medium heat.  Meanwhile, blanch the fresh rice vermicelli.  Once the water boils, remove rice vermicelli and run under cold water. (This prevents the rice vermicelli from sticking to each other)

4. Add the crab, clams (or other shell fish).  Cook until the crab turns red.

5. Add the seasoning to taste.

6. Add the vegetable

7. Add the milk once the vegetables have become bright green.  Bring to boil for 1-2 minutes.  Turn off the heat.

To serve up:

Place some rice vermicelli and ladle the ingredients over the noodles.

Bon appetit =)

 

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

