Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Espresso Ice Cream

Leave a comment

I have not had coffee since I graduated from school.  It’s been 5 coffee-free years…and even if I had coffee, it had always been de-caffeinated.  My husband on the other hand had been drinking coffee almost every other day and I have to admit that the smell of a good coffee is really enticing!  This every other day exposure to the scent of coffee spurred me on to make this ice cream…hmm…and the effect was so good that I had to say I took 1 scoop of the ice cream myself.  It was wonderful…but I feared eating too much will result in increased palpitations, breaking out into cold sweat and some malfunction in my body, so I limit myself to only 1 scoop.  But this is definitely one ice cream that I will keep making!

Espresso Ice Cream

1 1/2 cups heavy cream
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 1/2 cup whole coffee beans
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
5 egg yolks
1/4 ts vanilla essence

1. Warm milk, honey, sugar, coffee beans, salt and 1/2 cup of heavy cream, until the faint smell of coffee is in the air.   Cover and remove the mixture from the heat and let steep at room temperature for 1 hour.

2. Pour the remaining 1 cup of heavy cream into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer on top.

3. Rewarm the coffee-infused milk mixture.   In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

4. Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heat-proof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream.  Press on the coffee beans to extract out as much of the custard mixture as possible.  Add the vanilla extract and stir (over an ice bath) until cool.

5. Chill the mixture thoroughly in the fridge (preferably overnight).  Freeze the mixture as per the instructions on your ice-cream maker.  If you don’t have an ice-cream maker, fret not.  Click here to find out how.

Modified from: Brown Eyed Baker

Note: Don’t discard the coffee beans.  They are still very flavorful and you can do a lot more with them.  I decorated my Espresso Ice Cream with whole coffee beans.  You can also coat the coffee beans with chocolate, but just make sure that the coffee beans are sufficiently soft, else they’ll not be “edible”.  Enjoy!

 

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

