Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Cod Fish Pasta

Leave a comment

It’s been a long time since my husband made dinner.  Tonight, I had the pleasure of working in the kitchen with him.  Of course he doesn’t do anything by recipes…well, most chefs don’t, but I won’t place him on the same scale as a chef.  I decided to add a fish dish to our vege-less dinner – Cod fish.  Unlike my husband, I am more of a recipe modifier, so of course my glaze was found online.  Hmm…pan-fried cod fish just sounds so yummy!

Robert Rainford has been one of the chefs whom I highly admire and I’m really happy to be able to try out his recipe for the cod fish.  It turned out really nice, though I had to make some adjustments myself.  I will definitely use this again.

Sesame Soy Glazed Cod

Sesame Glaze
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tablespoons sake
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
1 1/2 tablespoon white sugar
1 tablespoon sesame seeds, toasted
3 teaspoons cornstarch
2 teaspoons olive oil
2 teaspoons chopped fresh garlic
2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
splash sesame oil

Directions

Sesame Glaze

1. Mix all ingredients except cornstarch and sake in a small sauce pan. Place over low heat allow to simmer.

2. Mix the cornstarch with the sake until smooth. Whisk into ingredients in same pan.

3. Cook until thickened. Remove from heat allow to cool.

Cod

1. Oil pan well. (I made the mistake of not oiling my pan well and my cod ended up sticking to the pan)

2. Season fish with salt and pepper.

3. Place fish down over direct heat. Cook until nice char marks are achieved.

4. Flip and paint with sesame glaze. Continue to cook a further 4 – 5 minutes.  Turn fish again and paint with sauce.

5. Let cook for 1-2 minutes.

Serve.

We had the fish with mussel pasta, but it is good on its own with just japanese rice!  Enjoy!!!

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

