Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Rocky Road Ice Cream

Leave a comment

I had been looking for mini-mashmellows for the longest time.  NTUC, whether Finest or not just didn’t sell it!  I knew Elise was looking forward to eating mini-marshmellows, but what can I do?  Then, as I was purchasing my heavy cream to make more ice cream at Phoon Huat, I saw a poster advertising…guess what… …MINI MARSHMELLOWS!  Yes! I bought a small bag of it and quickly went home to start making my long awaited Rocky Road Ice Cream which I had found from Brown Eyed Baker.  I can’t wait to see the surprises on my family’s faces given that this ice cream has several different “additions”!  Every bite of the ice cream will bring with it different taste and texture…a pure delight to any food connoisseur.  Just looking at the recipe makes my mouth water!

The first time I made this ice cream, I just added sugar to the mixture, which made the ice cream so hard and unscoopable.  This time, I changed the recipe and it turned out great!  Hmm…but wait, I’ll have other renditions of this real soon…

Rocky Road Ice Cream

2 cups heavy cream
3 tb unsweetened cocoa powder
10 tb bittersweet chocoloate chopped up
1 cup whole milk
1/16 cup sugar
1/8 cup honey
Pinch of salt
5egg yolks
1/4 ts vanilla essence
3/4 cup mini mashmallows
1/2 cup dark chocolate chopped up into 0.5cm cubes


Ice Cream

1. Warm 1 cup of cream with the cocoa powder.  Stir but DO NOT whisk the mixture until the cocoa powder has been thoroughly blended.  Bring to a boil then remove from the heat.  Add in the 10tb of chopped chocolate and stir until smooth. Stir in the remaining cup of cream.  Pour the mixture into a bowl scraping out as much mixtrue as possible.

2. Warm the milk, sugar, honey and salt in the same saucepan.  Once the sugar has melted, remove from heat.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

3. Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heat-proof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the chocolate cream.  Add the vanilla extract and stir (over an ice bath) until cool.

5. Chill the mixture thoroughly in the fridge (preferably overnight).  Freeze the mixture as per the instructions on your ice-cream maker.  If you don’t have an ice-cream maker, fret not.  Click here to find out how.

6. During the final whisking of the ice cream mixture, add in the mini marshmellows and chocolate.  Freeze.

Adapted from: Brown Eyed Baker

 

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

