Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Homemade Oreo Cookies

Leave a comment

Who likes Oreo Cookies?  I do, I do.  And I know my kids love them too.  BUT, I have to admit that I didn’t like the cookies with the cream in the middle because it was just way too sweet for me.  I just enjoyed the rich chocolate-y taste of the cocoa, and the crunch of the cookie.  Of course I knew that the cookie was slapped with tons of preservatives, which made me want to make my own.  However, after trying tons of recipes, I started getting really disheartened.  I just could not recreate the yummy-ness of the original Oreo cookie!

Well, it was until recently that I found a recipe from cupcake project, who got the receipe from Heaven is Chocolate, Cheese, and Carbs, who got it from Smitten Kitchen,  who got the recipe from the book Retro Desserts by Wayne Brachman.  So as you can tell, this recipe had gone round the world, and I had only found it now.  Better late than never right?  Of course, the recipe was not perfect for the Singapore weather, so I had to modify it to suit the humid weather here.

I had the luxury of making a sample and having some kids try them.  Oh boy, never did I expect the kids to come back for seconds!  And these are cookies were without the cream in the middle.  So go figure!  Try it and you’ll never have to go to the stores to buy Oreo Cookies again!

Homemade Oreo Cookies

1 1/4 cups plain flour
1/2    cup unsweetened cocoa
1         ts baking soda
1/4    ts baking powder
1/4    ts salt
1        cup sugar
100g butter at room temperature
1 egg

1. In  a medium-sized bowl, mix the dry ingredients.

2. Beat the egg and add it to the dry ingredients and mix it thoroughly.  Slowly add in the butter.  Stop when the dough comes together.

3. Place the dough on the paper-lined baking sheet approximately 2 inches apart.

4. Moist hands to flatten the dough into circle-like shapes.

5. Bake for 15 minutes at 170 deg C.  When done, cook the cookies on rack before packing them into air-tight containers.

Modified from: cupcake project

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

