Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Baked Cod Fish with Potato salad

Leave a comment

This officially marks the end of my home-making stint.  I will no longer need to single-handedly meddle with housework (Yes, I am very blessed, I know). This cod fish dish is also one of my all time favorites.  I once had a really nice pan-fried cod fish at a restaurant, but I really didn’t feel like having fried fish, so I thought a nice change would be to bake the cod fish.  Of course, fresh cod fish in Singapore is very expensive, so I resorted to using frozen ones.  The thing about frozen cod fish is that it’s a lot more fishy as compared to fresh ones.  What do you expect right?  It’s natural.  However, the good thing about frozen cod fish is that it’s a lot more affordable for the size of the fish that you get =).  So go weigh the pros and cons.I found the recipe for the baked breaded cod fish from CDKitchen.  What I liked about it was the sauce.  It was so yummy, despite my change in the ingredients.

The other thing that I’m super excited to share is the potato salad that I got from a good university friend, Jing Yan.  I still clearly remember her bringing a bowl of potato salad (for a UM gathering) that was so delectable that I couldn’t stop munching on.  Alright…I know we don’t munch on potato salad, but you get my drift.  So I quickly asked her for the recipe, and within 30  mins, I had the most tasty potato salad on the table.  Amazing!  You’ve got to try this recipe…I believe you’ll agree with me.

Baked Breaded Cod Fish

1/4 cup mayonnaise
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon lemon juice
pinch of salt
ground black pepper
fresh bread crumbs (I literally toasted some wholemeal bread and crushed the bread to get the bread crumbs)
cod fillets
4 medium-large portabello mushrooms
1 bunch of asparagus

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 230 degress C.  Lightly oil the tray that the fish and vegetables are going on.

2. Combine mayonnaise, Parmesan cheese, lemon juice, salt and pepper in small bowl.

3. In the tray, scatter the mushrooms and asparagus.  The cod fish will be placed on top of the vegetables.

4. Spoon mayonnaise mixture on one side of cod; dip coated side in breadcrumb mixture. Bake 10 minutes or until bread crumbs begin to brown.

5. Remove fish from oven.  Carefully turn the fish over and repeat step 3 on the other side.  This is especially important if the cod fillet is very thick.  You’ll want to make sure that the fish is tasty all around and not only on the top.

6. Replace in oven for about 5 mins.

7. To the remaining sauce, don’t dump it.  Add in more lemon juice and it can be used to drizzle over the cod fish when served.  It tastes great that way too!

Serve warm =).

Potato Salad

5 medium Russet potato (alright, I’m not the best person to determine which type of potato makes the best potato salad, but I’ll do my research and share it with all in my next post)
2 shallots
4-5 strips of bacon
3 ts salt
2-3 tb vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
2-3 tb water

Directions:

1. Skin and dice up potatoes.  Bring to boil in a pot, adding salt to the water.

2. Once the potato softens, remove and rinse in cold water to stop it from cooking.

3. Cut up bacon strips into bite size and fry them in the pot that you’d used to boil the potatoes.

4. Add the shallots to the bacon bits.  Add in the vinegar if the pot gets too dry.  Let the shallots caramelise.  If the mixture gets too dry, add in the water.

5. Add in the potatoes and mix well.

Serve cold or warm.  It tastes just as good =).

Hope you’ll enjoy this dish.  The kids loved the potato salad and cod fish.  The husband loved the potato salad.  He finished the entire pot of it!

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

