Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Homemade Bak Kwa (aka Barbeque Pork Jerky)

Leave a comment

Wow…I would never have thought that I could do something like that.  Thanks WWW!  It’s really because you exist, hence I’m able to experiment with all these things.  So my latest quest was Bak Kwa for the impending Chinese New Year.  It’s one of my favorite times of the year (albeit it’s a very tiring time too).  This year, I am a lot busier than usual, reason being, I’ve decided that I wanted to do some of my own cookies/snacks.  And Bak Kwa is one of them!!!  And I did it *all smiles*.  Many thanks to Soy and Pepper for sharing the recipe was I able to endeavour on such a feat.  Of course, I made some slight changes to enhance the taste a little more.

I used to think that such things must be almost impossible to make, since people charge so much for it.  But when I searched around the WWW and saw the recipes that others had put up…goodness, it was EASY!  Of course all these things need some effort to get done, but seriously, it’s SO easy to make your own bak kwa!  It just takes some interests and love to get it done.  But the results…oh…not only does the house smell of the wonderful aroma of bbq pork, the end result of the bak kwa on your plate is…is…amazingly enjoyable.  I just hope the family will like it as much as I had fun doing it.

Bak Kwa (Barbeque Pork Jerky)

500g mince pork (please don’t get lean meat, you need the fats to make the bak kwa palatable and soft)
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp fish sauce
1 tbsp rice wine
1/3 tsp five-spice powder
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tbsp light soy sauce
1/2 tsp salt
A few drops of red food colouring

Honey for brushing during the grilling

Directions:

1. Mix all the ingredients except for the pork in a large bowl until the sugar dissolves. Add the minced pork and marinate overnight (this will allow the meat to absorb all the flavors from the ingredients).

2. Spread the marinated minced pork thinly onto a piece of aluminium foil, approximately 5mm . I placed the minced pork on the aluminium foil, placed a cling wrap over it and used the rolling pin to get an even layer.

3. Place the aluminium foil over a charcoal grill.  You have to use the grill to get the same effect as what you do in the shops.  It makes such a difference with the charred smell and taste.  You can also use the oven, but it is no where as fragrant!

4. Once you are able to lift the entire sheet of semi-cooked minced pork from the aluminium foil, flip it over (removing the aluminium foil in the process) and brush some honey over the sheet of semi-cooked minced pork.  Depending on how big the fire, keep flipping the sheet of minced pork from side-to-side (applying honey to the meat each time you flip it) to prevent it from being burnt and charred.

5. When the sheet of minced pork has darkened in shade, consider it done! Cut it up into bite size and devour it!

Just 680g of minced pork gave me 1 full tupperware of Homemade Bak Kwa.  Wow….

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

