Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake

Leave a comment

It’s been a long drought.  I know.  Not that I’ve not done any cooking, but I’ve been so tied down with work, that I hardly had the time/chance to sit down and type in anything.  In fact, I dreaded having to type anything, since I’ve been busy ploughing the keys on my computer to churn out manuscripts. Ok, enough about work.  Now is the time for me to share some of the nice recipes that I’d come up with.  I wish I was recipe creator, but seriously speaking, that is way much hard work.  I’ve been a fan of the FoodNetwork Asia channel and seriously, I wonder to myself how the chefs just keep coming up with new ideas for food EVERYDAY!?!?  Then I chanced upon an article that talked about how chefs have a team of people (minion chefs) who experiment with food flavors and recipes and it’s them who come up with some of the new ideas.  Wow…so behind every successful chef, there are many many minion chefs.  Amazing.  So maybe that is a perfect explanation why I’m not that successful with coming up with new flavors! Haha…ok, but I digress.

This post came up purely as a challenge from my dear old cousin.  We were having lunch at a nice quaint Fusion restaurant and I had ordered Tiramisu desert.  The cream came frozen, and tasted like ice cream.  But you know that it’s cream, it’s not thick, but of course the kids LOVED it to bits.  Then came the challenge “Do YOU know how to make Tiramisu ice cream cake?”  “I’d never tried making it” was my only reply.  It ended right there.  It so happened that we were going to celebrate my son’s birthday.  So, I figured, I’d take up his challenge and make a Tiramisu Ice Cream cake!  So there you go.  I couldn’t get the cake right and had to try it a few times, but the results – WORTH it!  I sure hope that you’ll enjoy the cake as much as my cousin/husband/guests did.  It was certainly a fun experience and now my world of ice cream has opened up to ice cream cakes as well! Yoo hoo…cheers to challenges!

Tiramisu Ice Cream Cake

Cake

4 egg yolks
70g castor sugar

Whisk until ribbon stage (A)

4 egg whites
40g castor sugar
1/4 ts cream of tartar

Beat the egg whites until soft peaks form.  Add sugar and Cream of tartar and beat until stiff.

80g cake flour
1/2 ts baking powder

Sift together

1/4 cup oil
2 tb milk

1/2 ts vanilla essence

Heat oil and milk in microwave until boiling.  Stir into A with a balloon whist, followed by vanilla essence and sifted flour.  Fold 1/3 of egg whites into this mixture and then fold this mixture into the remaining egg whites.  Pour into tray and bake in preheated oven at the lowest rack (160 deg C for about 50 mins).  When baked, detach the cake from the sides of the tin and turn out.  Place on rack to cool.
Tiramius Ice Cream

1 1/2 cups milk
500g mascarpone cheese
4 egg yolks
1/8 cup honey
2 tb Kahlua

200 g chopped dark chocolate
2/3 cup heavy cream
2 ts coffee granules

1. Place milk, mascarpone cheese and honey in a saucepan and heat up the mixture.  Do not let the mixture bubble because the milk will start to curdle.

2. Whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.  Add the Kahlua.

3. Stir the mixture constantly over low heat with a heat-proof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer and let it cool.

5. Chill the mixture thoroughly in the fridge (preferably overnight).  Freeze the mixture as per the instructions on your ice-cream maker.  If you don’t have an ice-cream maker, fret not.  Click here to find out how.

6. While the churning, prepare the chocolate-coffee swirls.  Heat chocolate, heavy cream and coffee granules until the chocolate has completed melted and mixed well.  Let the mixture cool and allow it to thicken.

7. Assembling the ice cream cake.  Line the tin with cling wrap to allow easy removal of the ice cream cake once the cake has set.  Cut the cake into 2 layers and place the first layer at the bottom of the tin.  Spoon the churned ice cream onto the cake layer, followed by the chocolate sauce.  Use a stick to swirl the chocolate.  Repeat the process again.  Cover and place the ice cream cake into the freezer.

8. Before serving the ice cream, remove the cake from the tin, dust the top of the cake with cocoa powder and your guests can enjoy the Tiramisu ice cream cake!  Bon Appetit!!!

Adapted from: Michelle Southan

  

 

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

