Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Homemade Berries Jam

Leave a comment

Nothing beats having yummy jam with pancakes!  Just think about how the jam will trickle down the sides of the pancakes that had been stacked up…oh…the gewy, sweet & sour jam with the bite of the blue berries and seeds of the raspberries…oooohhhhh…now that is making me really hungry…I should stop that right now!

I had made blueberry jam previously, but berries jam is totally different.  The key thing is to know which berries disintegrate quicker so that you’ll know which ones you should start boiling first.  Well, I didn’t know better (but now I do)…so I just threw in all the berries at the same time.  Not the smartest thing to do, but still it worked out pretty well. And did I mention it’s so easy as well?

The only thing missing from this post is the one for pancake.  I should use up my buttermilk before it turns into cheese….so that I can enjoy it with my jam.  Can’t wait for the morning to come by quicker now…

 

Homemade Berries Jam Recipe

1 punnet raspberry
1 punnet blueberry
2 1/2 tb maple syrup
1/4 ts lemon zest
1/4 ts orange zest
Dash of nutmeg & cinnamon powder

1. Thoroughly wash the raspberries and blueberries.

2. Throw them into a small pot and turn up the heat (but don’t put it on high because it’ll start burning the berries).

3. Once the berries start bubbling and sweating, turn the heat down so that they won’t burn =).

4. When the berries have burst and are bubbling away, add in the lemon and orange zest, followed by the nutmeg and cinnamon powder.

5. Add the maple syrup when the berries have more or less disintegrated. Yes even for the blueberries.  Basically, you want the blueberries to flatten somewhat, but still whole.

6. Once the mixture starts to thicken, off the heat and strain the mixture into a nice air-tight bottle.  This is to remove all the seeds from the raspberry…else it’ll be more crunchy than jammy.  I happen to like my blueberries whole and not mushed up, so I removed my blueberries from the strainer and drop them into the bottle.  Afterwhich, I used a spoon and stirred around the strainer so help the mixture strain quicker.  It is really slow since the mixture is rather thick.

7. When cooled, refrigerate.

You now have a great bottle of jam that you can enjoy with yogurt, on bread or just as a spoonful of snack!

  

  

 

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

Leave a Reply

