Clickin' Kitchen

Simple. Scrumptious. Succulent

Hazelnut Praline Ice Cream

1 Comment

Hazelnut praline

My family is ice cream fanatic.  Thankfully I make my own ice cream and not buy them because if I do, I would certainly go BROKE!  I’m not kidding…every night after dinner, the first thing my kid would say is: “Mummy, can I have ice cream”…very shortly, I hear a parrot-like voice “Can I have ice cream”.  Yes, both the older children have sweet-tooth, just like my husband.  Is that a good thing? Definitely NOT! I’m not in favor of having sugar down-ed into my kids’ body (especially since I’m researching on Diabetes and know about all the “harms” of the condition).  So instead of consuming store-bought ice cream, I get them to eat homemade ice cream, which I have to say has only honey, thank goodness, and very little of that!

Anyway… I have made the plain ice creams for a long time, like vanilla, chocolate, blueberry, strawberry, peppermint, chocolate chip, vanilla with marshmellow, chocolate with nuts, and seriously, it’s getting boring! Even for me, who hardly consumes the ice cream.  It’s about time that I venture into the more exotic flavors.  But, I can’t seem to find recipes that intrigue me enough to make those ice creams.  For weeks I’ve been searching until recently, I came across thelittleloaf blog. My eyes lit up when I saw the Hazelnut Praline Ice Cream because I had all the ingredients needed!  I literally sat up in my chair and after looking at the recipe, I knew this was the next flavor of ice cream that I would make!  No regrets completely!

For those who do not drink (like myself), please go easy on the alcohol because even with the amount that I put in the recipe, I felt a little dizzy after having my ice cream (No kidding!).  My help started flushing right after finishing the ice cream and even felt a little quizzy.  But it was a hit with my son, thankfully he didn’t have more than just 1 spoonful of ice cream, else I really wouldn’t know what’s going to happen to him!  For a hubby with a love for alcohol, the ice cream was way too mild for him, though he liked it nonetheless.  Basically, for people who like alcohol, you can tune up the amount used in the cream for sure.  For those who would just like a very slight kick, the amount I used was sufficient.


Hazelnut Praline Ice Cream Recipe

Hazelnut praline

100g golden caster sugar
100g hazelnuts, toasted and chopped (this is way more than what was recommended by thelittleloaf, but being a nut lover, this was just sufficient)

1. Melt the sugar in a heavy bottomed saucepan and cook over a medium heat. Keep stirring the melting sugar to ensure that all the sugar melts evenly.  Remove from heat once all the sugar has melted (be careful not to burn the sugar, else it will start to taste bitter).  Once the sugar is a deep amber colour, then remove from the heat and stir in the chopped hazlenuts.

2. Pour the nutty praline in an even layer over a lined tray and leave to cool and harden. Once completely cool, blitz it coarsely.


Ice cream

1 1/2 cups heavy cream
1 1/2 cup milk
6 medium egg yolks
1 round tablespoon honey
4 tb Amaretto
1 portion of hazelnut praline (from above)
1/3 ts vanilla essence

1. Warm milk, heavy cream, honey, Amaretto.

2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

3. Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heat-proof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir until the mixture thickens and coats the back of the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer and stir (over an ice bath) until cool.

4. Add in vanilla essence

5. Chill the mixture thoroughly in the fridge (preferably overnight). Freeze the mixture as per the instructions on your ice-cream maker.  Freeze.  If you don’t have an ice-cream maker, fret not.  Click here to find out how.

6. Just before the ice cream is ready, add in the praline and allow to churn until well mixed. Pour the ice cream into your desired container and let it freeze before serving.

Note: Because there is alcohol in the ice cream, it might not “harden” into the same texture as ice creams without alcohol.  But do not worry, it will still be nice and soft despite it being straight from the freezer.

Enjoy =)

IMG-20130417-WA0011

Author: bugswana

Enjoy beautiful things

One thought on “Hazelnut Praline Ice Cream

  1. So pleased you enjoyed the recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

